Home Breast Cancer Researchers to be honored at San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium

Researchers to be honored at San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium


The San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium and American Association for Cancer Research — one of the conference’s co-sponsors — will recognize two researchers at this year’s meeting.

Myles Brown, MD, Emil Frei III professor of medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School, will receive the AACR Distinguished Lectureship in Breast Cancer Research award, supported by Aflac Inc.

Celina Kleer, MD, Harold A. Oberman collegiate professor of pathology at University of Michigan Medical School and Rogel Cancer Center, will receive the AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research, supported by the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

“These researchers have made real progress in understanding mechanisms of breast cancer progression, which has informed novel therapies against this disease,” symposium co-director Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, FAACR, director of Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at UT Southwestern and past president of AACR, said in a press release.

“The hard work and dedication of Drs. Brown and Kleer have helped to shape our fundamental understanding of the complex interactions of hormones and proteins in breast cancer,” Arteaga added. “Their lectures are among the many reasons why SABCS continues to be a leading global voice in breast cancer research.”

Brown will be recognized for his research into steroid receptor coregulators, which has yielded insights into the ability of these proteins to regulate the genome.

Kleer will be recognized for her work that yielded insights into the development of aggressive forms of breast cancer, and for advancing the characterization of clinical biomarkers and potential therapeutic targets.

This year’s San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium will be held Dec. 10-14.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.